29 members have voted

1. 1. Play Svengali to the Enigma!!!

• He'll be the star we always wanted: 85+ points
    • He'll return to his 05-06 form: 70-85 points barring injury
    • He'll do about like last season...oy vey
    • He'll spend most of the year injured
    • He'll ride the pine: Samsonov II
    • Who cares? He'll be gone by trade deadline day

I just think that Kovy may finally see that he is getting older but can still rack up the points by playing smartly and with great skill with some of the young guns on this squad.

Of course this is wishful thinking but I would rather be optimistic and hope he gets that he can really have a positive impact on the future of this team by teaming up with some hard working younglings.

I voted back to 05/06 form.

Here's hoping...

Edited by The Saint

All I know is I hope the team around him grows to be less reliant on his contributions. That was a huge reason we failed last year... if we can win enough games without him being a factor, we'll be in good shape. Then, if he does turn it on and be the player he was in 05/06, we're all of a sudden a strong team, not just a playoff bubble squad.

That being said, he was in mid-season form last night. The trouble is when it's mid-season sometimes he's still in pre-season form.

I voted 70-85 points because it was closer than "same as last season." By the way, guys, Kovalev looked like he was hardly trying last night - it's not that he was motivated last night, he was playing the same way he always plays. All you need is to have players with him that understand the way he plays - thing is, those guys are few and far between. I could actually see him having some chemistry with Chipchura since he's such a smart player and the two complement eachother really well. Latendresse-Chipchura-Kovalev? Sounds good to me.

Kovalv was a star last night and I think the mis treatment of Perezhogin really effected him last year.