Habs Drafting under Marc Bergevin

JGC21

I watched TSN: That's Hockey last night and their analysts pretty much tore up the moves that MB has made this summer with MTL and called them "directionless" and "desperate". That's certainly up for debate but another thing they said was that MTL's drafting over the past few years has been terrible. This got me thinking, since MB was brought in - what do the Canadiens have to show for it in terms of drafting?

The short list:

Galchenyuk

Hudon

McMarron

de la Rose

Fucale

Lehkonen

Andrighetto

Reway

Scherbak

Lernout

Juulsen

Sergachev

What do people think? Has the drafting been poor? Should we have more from our 2013 draft class in the NHL? Is our player development poor? From my point of view I like the players that Timmins and his crew have drafted. However, I'm no expert on player development and I'm willing to be patient on guys like McCarron, Lehkonen and Scherbak.

Like every other GM I guess there are hits and misses and a shit ton of luck (good or bad)

2012...Galchenyuk falls to 3rd o/a.

2nd round Habs draft Colberg who while never playing in NHL is flipped at deadline for Vanek..so that's positive. They also drafted Dalton Thrower who hasn't panned out. Not many in that 2nd round have. Perhaps Chris Tierny or Colton Sissons were better picks.

3rd round. Tim Bozon. Bad luck. Meningitis. Coulda drafted Colton Paryako, Shayne Gostisbehere, Fredrick Anderson or Jimmy Vesey. Slim picking after that.

2013 draft

1st Round...Shea Theodore over Mike McCarron? Still probably need another few years to decide.

2nd round...De la Rose, Fucale and Lehkonen. De LA Rose has most games played of any 2nd rounders that year. We'll find out about Lehkonen. Fucale could be a bust. Coulda drafted Nick Pecan and Madison Bowey.

3rd round took Connor crisp and Svenska Andrighetto. Coulda had Anthony Duclair. Not many other worthwhile names

2014 draft