2013-14 NHL Season Thread

dlbalr

With the offseason now done, it's time to get the regular season thread going. The first big topic? Patrick Roy blowing a gasket on the bench after a 6-1 victory. Right off the bat, I'm even happier that he's not the Habs coach. http://www.tsn.ca/nhl/story/?id=433301

Also, Ilya Bryzgalov is close to finding a new home as he's set to sign with Las Vegas of the ECHL. Somehow I can't see this lasting long.

Wouldn't laugh about the Leafs. They're a solid squad.

Roy: that was my whole concern with him, that he'd be too volatile for the absurdly high-pressure Montreal environment. Yes, that can lead to great success for a little while as the whole team is lit aflame, but it's ultimately a recipe for a circus. No thanks.

I am now an Avs fan. My gawd, loved him when he played, going to love him as a coach, I think.

I think he'll be like Torterella...a coach everybody loves to have around, but doesn't necessarily want coaching their team.

Second topic: Leafs are 2-0 which should mean the inevitable annual parade preparations in TO.

Discuss.

Or laugh.

Leafs just might have better goaltending, at a much lower cap hit. 4.7 to our 7.9. I'm not laughing anymore.

Three days into the year and already a record has fallen. Alex Barkov scored in his NHL debut for Florida last night and in doing so, became the youngest player in NHL history to record a goal. He beat Grant Mulvey and Jordan Staal by one day.

Laviolette fired in Philly after 0-3 start

A lot of people figured it would happen but if he was on that short of a leash, why not fire him when there were a lot more coaching options to choose from in the offseason? Craig Berube as the new permanent head coach doesn't exactly sound like an upgrade.

Laviolette fired in Philly after 0-3 start

Hope it will boost my fantasy pool. I have Giroux as my 1st pick and the Flyers as my team. (might have to spend a trade on this pick during the season...)