Sharks sign Hjalmarsson to an offer sheet

huzer

http://tsn.ca/nhl/story/?id=327071

The San Jose Sharks have signed Blackhawks restricted free agent defenceman Niklas Hjalmarsson to a free agent offer sheet, signing the defenceman to a four-year, $14 million dollar contract.

Chicago has seven days to match the offer. If the team does not match it, they will receive San Jose's first and third round picks in the 2011 NHL entry draft.

The dismantling of the Hawks (potentially) continues!

Ok, I'm no expert, but did I read 14 million? Hjalmarsson? Wow. I'm not saying the guy isn't talented but... Take the 1st rounder and run!

This seems a steep price to pay to get him. First you have to give 14 M on a 4 year deal and then on top of that a 1st and 3rd rounder? wow..

Ok, I'm no expert, but did I read 14 million? Hjalmarsson? Wow. I'm not saying the guy isn't talented but... Take the 1st rounder and run!

This seems a steep price to pay to get him. First you have to give 14 M on a 4 year deal and then on top of that a 1st and 3rd rounder? wow..

My thoughts exactly. Maybe this is a Jeff-Finger-to-Toronto situation? Y'know, maybe they confused Hjalmarsson with Keith or Seabrook and thought they were getting something better than him?

If I'm Chicago, I'm overjoyed by this offer sheet.

No Hawks fans are overjoyed by this...

They're screwed. They can't really match unless they move someone out (like Niemi who's going to arbitration with them) but they also are sick of losing solid players from their Cup run. He's worth the late 1st and 3rd (but not the 3.5M).

Win/win for SJ.

No Hawks fans are overjoyed by this...

They're screwed. They can't really match unless they move someone out (like Niemi who's going to arbitration with them) but they also are sick of losing solid players from their Cup run. He's worth the late 1st and 3rd (but not the 3.5M).

Win/win for SJ.