DiPietro Out Indefinitely

Psycing

http://www.tsn.ca/nhl/news_story/?ID=201754&hubname=nhl

Rick DiPietro is out with post concussion syndrome. Considering that DiPietro has been the Islanders best player all season, that's bad news for their playoff hopes.

What's it mean to the Habs? Well, besides the fact that Steve Begin was the one to inflict the injury, one of Montreal's biggest competitors for one of the final playoff spots just blew a tire.

Mike Dunham isn't bad, but I doubt he'll be strong enough over the Isles' final 7 games to help them through. They'll have to concentrate on out-scoring opponents.

very unfortunate for DiPietro, I can't imagine Post-Concussive syndrome is very pleasant.

I'm with Fanpuck - very odd for him to come back and only now go on the DL. Perhaps he got whacked a bit again since Begin?

From what I understand, post concussion syndrome is different than the original concussion. I'm no doctor, though, hehe. Maybe he felt better and then the PCS kicked in?

and crush Lundqvist's skull on the ice...

I know that it wasn't intentional vs Dipietro... but still, Dip is now absent indefinitly... taking NYISL out of the run...

I feel sorry for dip... but god, I'm happy :D:clap:

Go Begin Go :ninja:

According to wikipedia:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Post-concussion_syndrome

Physical symptoms can include:

* headache

* dizziness

* impaired balance

* nausea and/or vomiting

* fatigue or sleepiness

* inability to sleep

* decreased libido

* sensitivity to noise or light

* ringing in the ears

* double or blurred vision[9]

* decreased sense of taste, smell, or hearing

So maybe he's had a few good outings, but is still experiencing some of these unpleasant disorders and the doctors have stepped in. Sounds like it really sucks.

Edited by Dirty Harry

It's really not something we should gloat about. I know it works out conveniently, but it sucks to see competitors drop over something like that, a hollow victory.